Skip to content

Architectural History alumnus Craig Potts shares his perspective on the value of his SCAD education

November 1, 2017

Craig Potts with studentsDuring the winter and spring quarters of the 2016-2017 academic year, Craig Potts (M.A. 2002), the State Historic Preservation Office for the state of Kentucky, served as the Architectural History alumni mentor.  The SCAD mentor program allows alumni to reconnect with the college and share their professional perspective with students.  Craig summarized the benefits of his SCAD education in the following words:

“SCAD helped me turn my passion for the historic environment into a successful and fulfilling career.  Architectural History gave me the tools I needed to understand context within the built environment, to better evaluate those places that are worthy of physical preservation and to broaden my perspectives on significance. I was able to tailor my ideal learning experience at SCAD through a full slate of applied and academic learning.  I am able to protect and revitalize historic properties in Kentucky almost every day through consensus building and creativity. I developed those skills along with confidence and leadership abilities at SCAD.”

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

